Janine Jansen, Brahms concerto for violin

Janine-Jansen_violinoViolinist Janine Jansen will play in Rome at the National Academy of Santa Cecilia. This season Santa Cecilia called some violinists on the international scene. After listening to the violin Batiashvili execution of the Sibelius Concerto and Anna Tifu, now sound Janine Jansen, the famous Dutch violinist who performs in Santa Cecilia for 3 days starting today Saturday, February 21 2015 (Sala Santa Cecilia at 18 – Monday 23 hours 20.30 – 19.30 Tuesday 24) with the Brahms violin Concerto conducted by Antonio Pappano. Janine Jansen is committed to a European tour, as well as the Batiashvili, who since the early days of March will perform in major cities such as Baden Baden, Luxembourg, Amsterdam, Frankfurt, Essen, Dusseldorf, Brussels, Eindhoven.

“The melodies fly so thick in this village that you have to be careful not to step on one,” wrote Brahms from his retreat in Carinthia where, in the quiet of summer, he composed much of his music. In Pörtschach, a small hamlet overlooking Lake Wörth, he had completed his Second Symphony; there, during the following summer of 1878, he wrote Violin Concerto op. 77, dedicated to his friend Joseph Joachim, a talented violinist with whom he had extensive correspondence throughout the concerto’s gestation period. Brahms sent Joachim several passages for recommendations and corrections, and when the work was completed it was Joachim who performed in public the elaborate feats of virtuosity the score required. So dense and complex a work requires a performer with fine technique, like Janine Jansen. Born in the Netherlands to a family of musicians, Ms. Jansen performed this very same Brahms concerto when making her solo debut with the National Youth Orchestra of Scotland in 2001, at just over 20 years of age.
 On the same evening, Antonio Pappano will conduct Robert Schumann’s Symphony no. 4. The work was composed in the summer of 1841 – a particularly prolific time for this composer – and performed in Leipzig on 6 December that same year. However, the duo of none other than Franz Liszt and Clara Schumann also performed that same evening, and, with their virtuoso variations on a theme by Bellini, upstaged the premiere’s success. Schumann set the symphony aside and began revising it more or less ten years later, earning him the last major success in his lifetime.

Saturday 21 February – at 18.00
Monday 23 February – at 20.30

Tuesday 24 February – at 19.30


Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia
Antonio Pappano
Janine Jansen violino

Malipiero Concerti per orchestra
Schumann Sinfonia n. 4
Brahms Concerto per violino

23 February – Live broadcasting on

Rai Radio 3


The Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia, situated at the Auditorium Parco della Musica of Rome designed by architect Renzo Piano, is one of the largest music complexes in the world today.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.